KAMMERQUEERS

KAMMERQUEERS

STATEMENT FROM THE KAMMERQUEERS

KammerQueers acknowledges that theatres are really shit at putting anything but cis white straight male narratives on its stages, especially its big stages, and this is reflected also in their internal structures. The KammerQueers is a collective made up of people who identify as queer connected to the Kammerspiele. They aim to reclaim space and create networks for queer people working in theatre and performance as well as with queer people and artists living in Munich and beyond. Wuss started as a karaoke party with drag aesthetics but tonight we try to redefine it as a explicitly queer space for artistic engagement.


WUSS 3000

WUSS 3000 is queer, anarchic and kinda messy. An evening full of tenderness, fights, karaoke and performances. The KammerQueers, a collective of people associated with the Kammerspiele who identify as queer, have created a queer space with an artistic mission called WUSS 3000. To network with queer people in theatre and performance contexts, they invite guests from Munich and beyond to each of their events.


If you have comments or concerns or would like to contribute/perform please contact us via: kammerqueers@kammerspiele.de


KammerQueers Lola Fonseque, Thomas Hauser, Fabian Holle, Ella McCarthy, Damian Rebgetz, Keith Zenga King Costumes Melina Poppe, Nora Stocker Setting Andrea Perez Fu, Janina Sieber

Photos

Events

12. Jul 19, 13:00 to 17:00 Hrs
Treffpunkt/Meeting point Kammer 2

SAFE PLACE AND THEATER

THEATRE WORKSHOP FOR PEOPLE OF COLOR WITH MIRIAM IBRAHIM / FREE ENTRY, IN ENGLISH AND GERMAN, PLEASE REGISTER

13. Jul 19, 21:00 to 03:00 Hrs
Kammer 2

WUSS 3000 X QULTUR

WITH PERFORMANCES BY MALA (HAMZA BADI), DANIELLE BRATHWAITE-SHIRLEY, MANDHLA, RAE MAJOR, SMOOTHOPERATOR, LUX VENÉREA / DJANE RIYA, DJ SIMO / HOST: GODXXX NOIRPHILES // 5 EURO, VERY LIMITED PRESALE

TEXTS

KAMMERQUEERS PRESENTS: AN ANTI-TOOTHPASTE MANIFESTO

Theater is a very busy space - full of objects, costumes, people, roles, stories. But through all the chaos is a very organised structure, a very well looks-like-a-messorganized- place that leaves a clean after-taste. Like a strong (dentist-recommended!) toothpaste that erases any other taste. Even a cigarette is not enjoyable anymore. Let’s call this ‘Extremely Strong Spearmint Extra Whitening:Caution Will Cause Gum Bleeding’ taste (to make it short: ESSEWCWCGB-taste). I add in the gum bleeding because you all know what I’m talking about. We’re speaking from a dirty queer point-of-view, of course. Got you by surprise! Rude. At this point I have to admit that I’ve stopped cleaning my not-so-pearly-whites. They’re too sensitive, like my gums.

Heteronormativity, like whiteness, is the ‘Normal-Machine’, with pre-prepared logic, goals, dominants dominating their domination to reproduce ‘are they photoshopped?’ smiles. It is the ‘Extremely Strong Spearmint Extra Whitening:Caution Will Cause Gum Bleeding’ taste that we are left with, because the stories we are telling to the public, and to ourselves, have already been told in different forms, not just once, but thousands of times. We, and bear with me here with this metaphor, ARE THE TOOTHPASTE. It might feel exaggerated, BUT IT’S NOT. We are neatly organised toothpaste tubes on shelves - well-marketed, branded, manufactured, identical packaging full of promises, obedient and motionless. Now and then, a new line of packaging - shiny, beautiful, glitterspecked, sensitive ! Sometimes there’s even an inch of scandal - ‘Nelken Taste’, oh how exotic ! But trust us, it’s the same shit.

Imagine that one day you bought, maybe while trying to buy bio, a new toothpaste. Neutral taste, it doesn’t sting your mouth, make your gums bleed. You feel a little dirty, a little different, a little queer, the words that come out of your mouth are filthier and you know what? Filth is our politics! Filth is our life! Embrace it, embrace a theater that is Queer. To quote Jose Esteban Munez from “Cruising Utopia”: “Queerness is primarily about futurity and hope… We must dream and enact new and better pleasures, other ways of being in the world and ultimately other worlds.”. Put. Down. The. Toothpaste.

We need to create a queer theatre based on Hope, on Utopia. A theatre that is abnormal, strange, dangerous, unstable. We will be disappointed, but it’s part of the process. We have created the KammerQueers, a collective of Queer people from the Kammerspiele : we are anti-racist, anti-cissexist, definitely queer, and trying to navigate and change the institution that is the Kammerspiele. We work to build new apparatuses/ octopuses inside the theatre, through, among other things, the event WUSS 3000. WUSS 3000 is an evening of moments of fight, tenderness, karaoke and performances in which the KammerQueers invite queer performers from Munich and beyond, and try to create a safe space inside the white and straight institution of the Kammerspiele.

New apparatuses mean rethinking the conditions of our relationships, fighting racism and cissexism everywhere, taking care of each other, worshipping the toilets, being proud losers, angry dykes*, stupid cunts*, crazy trans*, frustrated fisters, loving the nonbinary, creating escape rooms and time machines, subverting spaces and stories. Theatre needs other artists, other structures. We want queer, black, migrant, and POC artists on our stages! We want Utopia! We want everyone to stop brushing their teeth! Let’s remove that ESSEWCWCGB taste that has been in our mouths for too long, making our beautiful, disgusting and ridiculous queer clothes, bodies and stories INVISIBLE AND HURT.

KAMMERQUEERS

KAMMERQUEERS

STATEMENT FROM THE KAMMERQUEERS

KammerQueers acknowledges that theatres are really shit at putting anything but cis white straight male narratives on its stages, especially its big stages, and this is reflected also in their internal structures. The KammerQueers is a collective made up of people who identify as queer connected to the Kammerspiele. They aim to reclaim space and create networks for queer people working in theatre and performance as well as with queer people and artists living in Munich and beyond. Wuss started as a karaoke party with drag aesthetics but tonight we try to redefine it as a explicitly queer space for artistic engagement.


WUSS 3000

WUSS 3000 ist anarchisch, queer, irgendwie chaotisch. Ein Abend voller Zärtlichkeit, Kampf, Karaoke und Performances. Die KammerQueers, ein Kollektiv aus Personen, die in Verbindung mit den Kammerspielen stehen und sich als queer identifizieren, schaffen mit WUSS 3000 einen queeren Raum mit künstlerischem Auftrag. Um sich mit queeren Menschen in Theater- und Performancekontexten zu vernetzen, laden sie jedes Mal Gäste aus München und darüber hinaus ein.


Falls ihr Anmerkungen und Kommentare habt oder euch beteiligen/auftreten wollt, meldet euch bitte via: kammerqueers@kammerspiele.de


KammerQueers Lola Fonseque, Thomas Hauser, Fabian Holle, Ella McCarthy, Damian Rebgetz Kostüme Melina Poppe, Nora Stocker Setting Andrea Perez Fu, Janina Sieber

Fotos

Veranstaltungen

12. Jul 19, 13:00 bis 17:00 Uhr
Treffpunkt/Meeting point Kammer 2

SAFE PLACE AND THEATER

THEATER-WORKSHOP FÜR PEOPLE OF COLOR MIT MIRIAM IBRAHIM / EINTRITT FREI, AUF ENGLISCH UND DEUTSCH, BITTE ANMELDEN

13. Jul 19, 21:00 bis 03:00 Uhr
Kammer 2

WUSS 3000 X QULTUR

PERFORMANCES VON MALA (HAMZA BADI), DANIELLE BRATHWAITE-SHIRLEY, MANDHLA, RAE MAJOR, SMOOTHOPERATOR, LUX VENÉREA / DJANE RIYA, DJ SIMO / HOST: GODXXX NOIRPHILES // 5 EURO, SEHR LIMITIERTER VORVERKAUF

TEXTE

KAMMERQUEERS PRESENTS: EIN ANTI-ZAHNPASTA-MANIFEST

Das Theater ist ein sehr wuseliger Raum – voller Gegenstände, Kostüme, Menschen, Rollen, Geschichten. Aber bei allem Chaos ist es eine sehr organisierte Struktur, ein sehr gut sieht-aus-wie-Chaos-organisierter Raum, der einen sauberen Nachgeschmack hinterlässt. Wie eine starke (von Zahnärztinn*en empfohlene!) Zahnpasta, die jeden anderen Geschmack ausmerzt. Nicht mal eine Zigarette macht dann noch Spaß. Nennen wir das den „Extrem starke Minze Ultra Weiß: Achtung, kann zu Zahnfleischbluten führen“-Geschmack (abgekürzt ESUWAKZZF-Geschmack). Das mit dem Zahnfleischbluten ist von mir, ihr alle kennt das. Natürlich sprechen wir aus einem dreckig-queeren Standpunkt heraus. Überraschung! Gemein. Ich muss zugeben, dass ich meine nicht so Perlweißen nicht mehr reinige. Sie sind zu empfindlich, wie mein Zahnfleisch.

Heteronormativität, wie Weißsein, ist die „Normal-Maschine“, mit vorgefertigter Logik, Zielen, Dominanten, die ihre Domination dominieren, um ein „ist das photogeshoppt“-Lächeln zu reproduzieren. Zurück bleibt der „Extrem starke Minze Ultra Weiß: Achtung, kann zu Zahnfleischbluten führen“-Geschmack, denn die Geschichten, die wir dem Publikum und uns selbst erzählen, sind schon in unterschiedlichen Formen erzählt worden, nicht nur einmal, sondern x-fach. Wir, und habt Nachsicht mit meiner Metapher, SIND DIE ZAHNPASTA. Das mag übertrieben erscheinen, IST ES ABER NICHT. Wir sind ordentlich in Regale eingeordnete Zahnpastatuben – gut vermarket, Markenware, hergestellt, identisch verpackt voller Verheißungen, gehorsam und bewegungslos. Hin und wieder eine neue Verpackungslinie – glänzend, schön, glitzernd, empfindlich! Manchmal gibt es sogar einen Hauch von Skandal – „Nelkengeschmack“, oh, wie exotisch! Aber glaubt uns, es ist derselbe Scheiß.

Stellt euch vor, dass ihr eines Tages, während ihr vielleicht Bio kaufen wollt, eine neue Zahnpasta kauft. Neutraler Geschmack, kein Brennen im Mund, kein Zahnfleischbluten. Ihr fühlt euch ein bisschen dreckig, ein bisschen anders, ein bisschen queer, die Worte, die aus eurem Mund kommen, sind schmutziger, und wisst ihr was? Schmutz ist unsere Politik! Schmutz ist unser Leben! Nehmt ihn an, nehmt ein Theater an, das Queer ist. Um aus „Cruising Utopia“ von José Esteban Muñoz zu zitieren: „Bei Queerness geht es in erster Linie um Zukünftigkeit und Hoffnung ... Wir müssen neue und bessere Lüste erträumen und erleben, andere Arten des Seins in der Welt und zu guter Letzt andere Welten.“ Legt. Die. Zahnpasta. Weg.

Wir müssen ein queeres Theater auf der Grundlage von Hoffnung, von Utopie schaffen. Ein Theater, das abweicht, seltsam, gefährlich, instabil ist. Wir werden enttäuscht sein, aber das gehört zum Prozess. Wir haben die KammerQueers ins Leben gerufen, eine Gruppe queerer Menschen an den Kammerspielen: Wir sind anti-rassistisch, anti-cissexistisch, eindeutig queer, und wir versuchen, die Institution Kammerspiele zu lenken und zu verändern. Wir arbeiten daran, neue Apparate/Oktopusse innerhalb des Theaters zu erschaffen, wie zum Beispiel durch das Event WUSS 3000. WUSS 3000 ist ein Abend des Kampfes und der Zärtlichkeit mit Karaoke und Performances, für den die KammerQueers queere Performer aus München und darüber hinaus einladen und mit dem sie einen sicheren Raum innerhalb der weißen und heterosexuellen Institution Kammerspiele schaffen wollen.

Neue Apparate bedeutet, die Bedingungen unserer Beziehungen zu überdenken, gegen Rassismus und Cissexismus zu kämpfen, wo immer sie auftreten, aufeinander aufzupassen, die Toiletten zu ehren, stolze Verlierer*innen, wütende Dykes*, dumme Fotzen*, verrückte Trans*, frustrierte Fister*innen zu sein, das Nicht-Binäre zu lieben, Schutzräume und Zeitmaschinen zu bauen, Räume und Geschichten zu unterwandern. Das Theater braucht andere Künstler*innen, andere Strukturen. Wir wollen queere, schwarze, migrantische und POC-Künstler*innen auf unseren Bühnen! Wir wollen Utopia! Wir wollen, dass alle aufhören, sich die Zähne zu putzen! Lasst uns den ESUWAKZZF-Geschmack ausspucken, den wir schon zu lange im Mund haben, und der unsere schönen, widerwärtigen und albernen queeren Kleider, Körper und Geschichten UNSICHTBAR MACHT UND VERLETZT.


PRESSE

Artikel von Franziska Koohestani zu WUSS 3000 für BR24.